Georg Blaurock
Conrad Grebel
Hans Hut
Jacob Hutter
Balthasar Hübmaier
Felix Manz
Pilgram Marpeck
Bernard Rothmann
Michael Sattler
Menno Simons

Hans Denck
Sebastian Franck
Jan of Leiden
Anna Jansz
Andreas von Bodenstein Karlstadt
Thomas Müntzer
Kaspar von Schwenckfeld

Evangelical Rationalists
Michael Servetus
Ingolstadt church

Cathedral in Ingolstadt where Johann Eck and Balthasar Hübmaier preached.

The Radical Reformation

The Radical Reformation consists of the most diverse group of theologians of any of the other movements. In fact, the only characteristic that all radical reformers share is their rejection of the Catholic Church and the protestant churches. In his classic, The Radical Reformation, George Huntston Williams classified the radicals as Anabaptists, Spiritualists, or Evangelical Rationalists. Anabaptists such as Menno Simons and Balthasar Hübmaier were pacifists who rejected infant baptism and were strict Biblicists. Caspar Schwenkfeld was a Spiritualist who emphasized the inner witness of the Spirit to such an extent that he rejected the “external matters” such as baptism and the Lord’s Supper as unnecessary. Evangelical Rationalist Michael Servetus emphasized the use of reason in addition to Scripture. This led to his rejection of the Trinity and his execution as a heretic in Geneva.